Contact Us

Best Ballers On The Bayou Honored At Big Dave Banquet

(photo by Ryan Baniewicz)
(photo by Ryan Baniewicz)

Dave “Big Dave” Thibodaux might be gone from this world, but he is certainly not forgotten.

The impact “Big Dave” had on the South Louisiana sports community is still felt, and the banquet he created to honor the football players in St. Martin Parish and the surrounding area is still going strong after two decades. Now adequately named the “Big Dave Banquet,” his longtime broadcast partner and friend Mike Bernard keeps the tradition alive.

Every year, the best football players on the bayou get together for a delicious meal, a couple jokes and a trophy ceremony to honor the finest athletes in the area. It’s about more than just football too.

Awards like the “Big Daddy Award” and the Judge Carl Williams Academic Award honor athletes who made an impact off the field to make their parents and communities proud. Former greats like Jake Delhomme, Trev Faulk and other legends come back every year to pay tribute to “Big Dave” and to share a positive message with the players. It’s a special experience for everyone involved and an essential piece of the football fiber in the parish.

This year, familiar faces like Cecilia defensive end Braylon Daigle and St. Martinville receiver Deantre James took home a couple pieces of hardware, but Bernard and his friends made sure to spread the wealth to hand out trophies to as many players as possible.

Take a minute to see the entire list of award winners, and make sure to congratulate the players if you see them in the street. Not only are they solid football players, they’re fine young men who care about their school and community.

Dominick Williams Outstanding DB Award: Kerrick Alexander, Cecilia

Travis Landry Outstanding LB Award: Tylar Wiltz, Breaux Bridge

Early Doucet Outstanding WR Award: Deantre James, St. Martinville

Floyd Poche Outstanding Lineman Award: Daniel Green, Breaux Bridge

Jake Delhomme Outstanding QB Award: Nate Cox, St. Thomas More

Kevin Faulk Outstanding RB Award: Elijah Mitchell, Erath

Butch Theriot Outstanding Offensive Player Award: Deantre James, St. Martinville

Trev Faulk Outstanding Defensive Player Award: Braylon Daigle, Cecilia

Terrance Lastrapes Coach Of The Year Award: Jim Hightower, St. Thomas More

Dave Thibodaux “Big Daddy” Award: Greg Randle III, Breaux Bridge

Judge Carl Williams Academic Award: Tylar Wiltz, Breaux Bridge

Gil Terrebonne Player Of The Year Award: Braylon Daigle, Cecilia

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Acadiana Postgame quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!